Calibration Forums
 
 

Go Back   Calibration Forums > DIY Calibration - Display Devices > Flat Panels - Plasma > Panasonic > Panasonic Plasma User Posted Settings

Notices
Old 04-03-2013, 11:15 PM   #81
joshuasjae
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How long do you run the slide for?

Sorry Im a newbie & lame question.. How long do you run the slide for after 100hrs? Thanks for your help in advance
joshuasjae is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register to remove these ads. It's free!



Register to remove these ads. It's free!
Old 04-04-2013, 10:39 AM   #82
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

This is for D-nice: I'm using an eye one pro (for high end), a C6 profiled to my eye one (for the low end), calman 5, the avs hd 709 disc but running it on my computer through vlc media player with the computer hooked up to my 65vt50 via a Dvi to hdmi cord. I'm calibrating custom mode. I'm using calman windows. The vt50 is in full mode as far as format goes. What I need to know is if I should be in hd size 1 or 2. I remember you saying 1 should be used for the vt30 but I really need to know if I should be in 1 on the vt50. My 80 to 90% gamma seems to be too wonky on 2 and is somewhat better, although still a little wacky on 1. I'm assuming this is the abl effecting those ire areas. What can I do to stop this? What should I use. I modeled my basic settings of contrast and brightness to your settings so 94 and 58. The vt50 has around 250 hours on it and ran a mixture of the slides and full screen video it's first 100 hours. If anyone else knows the answer to this, please let me know.

Last edited by kurochickensoup; 04-04-2013 at 10:23 PM.
kurochickensoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 06:50 PM   #83
wolfetone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi guys

Sorry to be another pestering noobie.

Heres the story.

I picked up the VT50 65 inch last Saturday.

It has been running on THX Cinema for 160 hours non stop on regular HBO HD content without bars or logos.

I now want to calibrate the TV. And I am wondering what calibration settings do you suggest?

Should I definitely get the calibration DVD and use it also? (was thinking of getting the new Spears & Munsil)

The watching room itself is quite dark, not much light.

Open to suggestions........

I live in Boston so I was quoted $300 to have it professionally calibrated. Wondering if this should be done and just forget the home calibration and DVD or is it definitely worth calibrating from a professional?
Is the difference of a professional calibration so good that its basically necessary...

Any pointers would be a great help
wolfetone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 08:17 AM   #84
gadgtfreek
Junior Member
Registered Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

D-Nice,

an reason to starting with Normal Color Temp and not Warm 2? Ive been "learning" my VT50 over the past few days, with an I1 Pro 2 and Calman 5. Also have a D3 Pro and Chromapure, and just sent money for Control Cal. I was going to sit down tonight and calibrate ISF Night, was just curious.
gadgtfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 11:59 AM   #85
bdfan4ever
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Extremely late to the party. Just started the slide show. Thanks D-nice!
bdfan4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:44 AM   #86
Samer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry for the newbie question, but I don't want to do things wrong:

The first post in this thread, the one with the slideshow images, states that:

Quote:
*****Note: This procedure is designed to prepare your display for the reference settings listed for each 2012 North American Panasonic model below by aging all pixels equally with the same content. This procedure is NOT designed nor recommended to be used as Break-in, Image Retention and/or Burn-in prevention.*****
But, as far as I know, these images are intended to be run on the TV as soon as you start it for the first time in order for the pixels to be burnt equally.

So, isn't this a break-in procedure? Should these images be run on the TV as soon as it arrives home or am I missing something?

Thanks in advance.
Samer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 01:31 PM   #87
rjruiz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samer View Post
Sorry for the newbie question, but I don't want to do things wrong:

The first post in this thread, the one with the slideshow images, states that:



But, as far as I know, these images are intended to be run on the TV as soon as you start it for the first time in order for the pixels to be burnt equally.

So, isn't this a break-in procedure? Should these images be run on the TV as soon as it arrives home or am I missing something?

Thanks in advance.
I'm wondering about this myself. I mean this procedure is aging the phosphors which isn't that the same as breaking in your plasma TV?
rjruiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 08:15 PM   #88
mightya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Have had a VT50 for about 4 months (prob <200 hours of use) and just found this thread. Safe to start the calibration as if the set was new? Or is there an alternate strategy?
mightya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 10:25 PM   #89
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,921
Thanks: 194
Thanked 179 Times in 138 Posts
Default

If you are doing your own calibration, you really can at anytime.. however, you will want to check it around 150+ hours, most likely adjustments will be needed.

.
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 09:08 PM   #90
mscappa
Junior Member
Registered Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 3D xml import not working

Hi Turbe, hoping you can help. I am having issues importing D's xml 3D settings. The 2D ifs night worked great, but I seem to get a "copy failed" every time. I have a 3d signal running while I try, but no luck.

Also, once created, should I have a new option in my tv menu that's locked out? I assume it's similar to the ifs night setting I previously created in 2D, correct? Either way, the settings aren't making it over properly. Any advice?
mscappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 08:53 AM   #91
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,921
Thanks: 194
Thanked 179 Times in 138 Posts
Default

If you are importing from file, use Procedure #3, not copy.
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 05:16 AM   #92
amarshall
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just finished the 100 hrs and have switched my settings to D-nices custom. I'm running my HDMI through a Pioneer VSX1122.

The color on the custom setting is AMAZING, however I'm getting this choppiness/blurring of action scenes on any type of movie on cable (FIOS) both live and DVR.

A good example was we were watching Kung Fu panda and the blacks of the panda during fight scenes would have solid horizontal lines. It's almost as the TV couldn't keep up. Is this a FIOS issue or a setting issue? When I change back to THX Bright Room, the choppiness/blurring/horizontal lines go away.

I tried to snap a picture by pausing it but it would clear up as I paused it.

edit: Nevermind I figured it out. It was a setting on the Pioneer VSX receiver that was upconverting the signal and screwing it up.

Last edited by amarshall; 09-05-2013 at 03:55 AM.
amarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 10:53 AM   #93
thepiecesfit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've been running the Non-prep for almost a year and was very happy with it. But recently have decided to do my own calibration after finding this thread http://curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10457 . I've measured the non prep settings and found that the deltaE values were in the 15-20 range and the color temp around 5000.

After calibration with the i1Display2 I'm under 5 delta E in each grey patch and steady at 6500k. The tool was under $300 and used the AVSHD 709 disk. Looks much better now I would always recommend calibrating your own display, due to variation of sets and such. Will probably almost always yield best results. But depends on your budget I suppose. YMMV

Example of IRE 0-100% Ramp:

delta E Before: (Non-Prep D-Nice Settings)
0% - 163.9
10% - 30.1
20% - 17.3
30% - 17.0
40% - 16.6
50% - 18.6
60% - 17.4
70% - 18.6
80% - 21.3
90% - 19.8
100% - 22.2

delta E After: (Custom Calibration)
0% - 163.9
10% - 21.6
20% - 0.9
30% - 2.2
40% - 0.3
50% - 1.3
60% - 4.3
70% - 0.9
80% - 0.4
90% - 1.0
100% - 1.6
thepiecesfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 04:00 AM   #94
fydo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello , you have the calibration values ​​for The TX- P55VT50E ?? Thank you!
fydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 07:46 AM   #95
teddeman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just purchased a 55VT50 that has 5500 hours on it. There are no signs of burn in and it was calibrated originally by Magnolia (I believe just the Movie and THX modes).

If I were to use D-Nice settings, should I run the 100 hours of slides or is it moot at this point because the set has already been used for 5 years?

Ted
teddeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 12:39 PM   #96
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,921
Thanks: 194
Thanked 179 Times in 138 Posts
Default

no need to at this point, if you want you can run some slides to see how the display is with each color but that is optional and not needed.

.
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Turbe For This Useful Post:
Old 02-23-2018, 10:51 AM   #97
teddeman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbe View Post
no need to at this point, if you want you can run some slides to see how the display is with each color but that is optional and not needed.

.
Already did to check for dead/stuck pixels; none at all. I am stoked to have found such a low hours set with no panel issues (for only $475).
teddeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
2012 panasonic settings, break in, break-in, calibrated settings, calibration, calibration settings, calman, d-nice, d-nice reference settings, d-nice settings, dnice, dnice reference settings, dnice settings, panel aging, reference settings, settings, tc-p50gt50, tc-p50gt50 settings, tc-p50st50, tc-p50st50 settings, tc-p55gt50, tc-p55gt50 settings, tc-p55st50, tc-p55st50 settings, tc-p55vt50, tc-p55vt50 settings, tc-p60gt50, tc-p60gt50 settings, tc-p60st50, tc-p60st50 settings, tc-p65gt50, tc-p65gt50 settings, tc-p65st50, tc-p65st50 settings, tc-p65vt50, tc-p65vt50 settings, vt50 calibrated settings, vt50 calibration settings

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Sponsored Links


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement System V2.3 By   Branden
©2008 - 2018 ControlCAL.com